Skip to Main Content

Search Tips

On this page:  what is the difference between Discover, Discover Local and Databases?

Discover Local

Search Discover Local (online catalog) to find materials held by all locations of OU Libraries:

  • print & Ebooks, journals & newspapers
  • manuscripts, archival materials
  • media, video, microforms

 

Ebooks available Online

Some COVID-19 emergency access has been discontinued  by vendors originally listed on this page: New Full Text Resources Available During Library Closure.

For example, online access to  HATHI LIBRARY books owned by OU has been discontinued!

 

Ebooks through Discover Local

Many Ebooks are available through Discover Local, from these Ebook Collections:  ACLS, Cambridge Univ. Press, Ebrary, EBSCO, Proquest, Springer, US GPO, Wiley  (many but NOT ALL with unlimited users).

Open Library via Discover Local  Free access via Open Library, with records in Discover Local.  A free Internet Archive account is required to borrow or reserve this ebook. Access limited to one user at a time. These items are not included in these guide pages.

 

More Ebook sites:

Discover

Search Discover for a combined search of:

  • items in Discover Local
  • content from databases (articles from journals and magazines & more)
  • content from the OU Libraries web site 

 

Tips on Finding Full-Text Articles

Databases

Search Databases to find article-level content of journals, newspapers, magazines, and to search collections of digitized books and archival materials. (NOTE: some databases include citations but do not full-text of articles;  if you need helping finding full-text articles see here)

 

Selecting Databases

Databases vary wildly in coverage snd scope. To select databases appropriate for your research needs, learn more here:

  • Database & EReference A-Z  This list includes info on each database (with info about the scope of the database: does it include one or many subjects? current or historical content? popular or scholarly materials? Here is an example: Historical Abstracts

 

  • Another way to identify databases relevant to particular subject areas is to browse OU Libraries Research Guides