Skip to main content

History of Science Searching & Research Guide

Tips on Finding Articles using Databases

  • See tabs at left for help searching databases for articles and other content included in databases (academic journals, newspapers, magazines, digitized collections). 
  • If the OU database does not have the full-text (just a citation), you can get a copy using the "Request via ILL" link in the item's record. You can also order the article by inputing its into in this form: Interlibrary Loan. (See Full-Text Guide for help)
  • Some databases only allow a few users at one time (This is may be the reason you are not able to access a particular database at a particular time)
  • With EBSCO, you can search several databases at the same time.

Selecting Databases

Search Databases to find article-level content of journals, newspapers, magazines, and to search collections of digitized books and archival materials. (NOTE: some databases include citations but do not full-text of articles;  if you need helping finding full-text articles see here)

 

Selecting Databases

Databases vary wildly in coverage snd scope. To select databases appropriate for your research needs, learn more here:

  • Database & EReference A-Z  This list includes info on each database (with info about the scope of the database: does it include one or many subjects? current or historical content? popular or scholarly materials? Here is an example: Historical Abstracts

 

  • Another way to identify databases relevant to particular subject areas is to browse OU Libraries Research Guides