Ebooks available Online
Some COVID-19 emergency access has been discontinued by vendors originally listed on this page: New Full Text Resources Available During Library Closure.
For example, online access to HATHI LIBRARY books owned by OU has been discontinued!
Ebooks through Discover Local
Many Ebooks are available through Discover Local, from these Ebook Collections: ACLS, Cambridge Univ. Press, Ebrary, EBSCO, Proquest, Springer, US GPO, Wiley (many but NOT ALL with unlimited users).
Open Library via Discover Local Free access via Open Library, with records in Discover Local. A free Internet Archive account is required to borrow or reserve this ebook. Access limited to one user at a time. These items are not included in these guide pages.
More Ebook sites:
Find Digitized Books through OU Databases
Many databases available through OU Libraries contain digitized copies of books; here are some examples: (with possible searches)
- Early English Books Online (search: literary works relating to the subjects of alchemy and astrology)
- Early European Books (search: works by astronomer Tycho Brahe's for comparison with OU's holdings)
- Early Encounters in North America (search: first-hand accounts of encounters between explorers and indigenous populations)
- Making of the Modern World (search: practical manuals relating to agriculture and the various commerical trades, from 1789-1842)
For tips on finding books/primary sources through OU databases & more, see: Primary Sources: History (compiled by Laurie Scrivener, History Librarian)
Find & Borrow Books Using WORLDCAT & ILL
USE WORLDCAT TO FIND BOOKS
Search Worldcat to identify books on your topic & to borrow (modern) books not currently available at OU Libraries. This database includes recently published books as well as the earliest printed books, held in libraries and collections worldwide.
USE WORLDCAT TO BORROW BOOKS FROM OTHER LIBRARIES
If the books you want is not available through OU Libraries, you can borrow the book from another library using Worldcat. Just click the link "Request via Interlibrary Loan" in the book's record from your search results:
USE ILL FORM TO BORROW BOOKS FROM OTHER LIBRARIES
To request to borrow a book from another library, you can enter details of the book you want directly into the ILL form "Request Book Via Interlibrary Loan" on OU Libraries Interlibrary Loan web site.